What are Chakras? 

The seven chakras are the centers in our bodies in which energy flows through.

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.

These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body. Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow. Chakras are each thought to govern a unique emotional and spiritual state. How energy flows through these centers greatly affects us. Balanced chakras allow energy to flow freely, promoting health, vitality, and harmony. But life experiences such as illness, trauma, and stress can cause imbalances which block the flow of energy. These imbalances produce a wide array of ailments & disturbances and can result in chronic illness, disease, and habitual patterns of thinking, feeling, & behaving.

Blocked energy in our seven chakras can often lead to illness, so it’s important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely. Fortunately, chakras can be cleared, rebalanced, and energized through yoga, Pranayama (breathing), meditation, and essential oils. 

The Chakras

Root Chakra: Muladhara

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and it is the first chakra.
Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. It is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food. The color associated with this Chakra is Red. 

Sacral Chakra : Svadhisthana

Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. This chakra is the center of our creativity and sexuality and is responsible for our creative expression. Location:  Lower abdomen, above pubic bone, about two inches below the navel and two inches in. Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality. The color associated with this Chakra is Orange.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura

Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. This Chakra is our source of personal power.  Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area between navel and breastbone. Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem. The color associated with this Chakra is Yellow. 

Heart Chakra: Anahata

Our ability to love. This chakra is our source of love and connection. Location: Center of chest just above the heart. Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace. The color associated with this Chakra is green.

Throat Chakra: Visuddha

Our ability to communicate. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. Location: Throat. Includes the neck, thyroid, and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue. Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth. The color associated with this Chakra is blue. 

Third Eye Chakra: Ajna

Our ability to focus on and see the big picture. This chakra is the center of intuition. We all have a sense of intuition but we may not listen to it or heed its warnings. Focusing on opening the sixth chakra will help you hone this ability. Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra). Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.The color associated with this Chakra is Indigo. 

Crown Chakra: Sahasrara

The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.  This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. Location: The very top/crown of the head. Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss. The color associated with this Chakra is purple.